Australia Austria Canada Czech Republic Denmark Finland Germany Ireland Israel Italy Japan Korea Latvia Lithuania Malta Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Norway Portugal Russia Singapore Slovak Republic South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America
Flags link to country page or website.
Read the Full  35 Year History of the IFDH Click here.

About the IFDH

The International Federation of Dental Hygienists was officially formed on June 28, 1986 in Oslo, Norway. The forerunner of the IFDH, The International Liaison Committee on Dental Hygiene, was established in 1973, by some European countries (including the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the UK), the USA, Canada and Japan.

35th anniversary video

The IFDH is an international non-governmental organization, free from any political, racial, or religious ties. It is incorporated and registered in the United States as a 501(c6) non-profit organization. It unites dental hygiene associations from around the world in their common cause of promoting dental health.


The International Federation of Dental Hygienists is an international non-profit association uniting national Dental Hygienist organizations, by fostering leadership and collaboration. IFDH is the principal advocate for the dental hygiene profession globally and promotes excellence in oral health, education, research and practice.


IFDH is dedicated to enhancing the recognition of the dental hygienist as being the key provider of preventive oral health care worldwide, and ensuring that oral health is integrated as a key aspect of overall health.

The IFDH is governed by its House of Delegates, which is comprised of 2 delegates from each Association Member. Normally the House of Delegates meets every three years, in conjunction with the International Symposium of Dental Hygiene, which is hosted and organized by a selected member country.

A five member Board of Directors (president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, and secretary), elected by the House of Delegates is responsible for the execution of goals as presented by the Board and agreed upon by the House of Delegates during each three year period.

IFDH Committees 2022-2024

  • Education – Chair: Alexandra Sheppard, Canada

  • Research – Chair: To be Determined

  • Association Resource Center – Chair: Carmen Lanoway, Germany

  • Membership

    • Dental Therapists Task Force – Co-Chairs: Kelli Jaecks (USA) and Diane Rochford (UK)

  • Social Media – Chair: Nikky Huisman, Netherlands

  • Social Responsibility – Chair: Wendy Stewart, Canada

  • International Symposium on Dental Hygiene – Chair: TBD, Korea

    • Scientific – Chair: TBD

  • World Dental Hygienist Awards – Chair: Wendy Stewart, Canada

2021 IFDH Sponsors
Platnium Sponsor
Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Crest OralB
Bronze Sponsor
International Federation of Dental Hygienists